A Year in the Land of Plenty

Dear Mum,

Well, yesterday was the anniversary of our arrival in Perth. Happy anniversary! As we expected this first year hasn’t been a bed of roses, but things seem to have settled down now and we are back into a kind of analogue of our old life.

With Julie and Rick away we’ve been going over to their’s three evenings a week, to turn their sprinklers on so the plants don’t expire, this has also given Joshua the opportunity to swim at least three times a week. Yesterday I didn’t take his float jacket and we got him swimming round the pool using one of the noodles (long foam rubber floaty thing), he loved it. At this rate he ought to be doing unaided laps in no time at all.

Nearly forgot to say, he started his new day-care on Thursday last week. It’s run by the same people but located at his school, it’s also the before and after school care so he’ll be going there on a Friday morning and afternoon too. He really enjoyed it and was impressed that they had a bunch of Dinosaur Train toys, along with a book on Star Wars Lego, which he was very excited to show me when I arrived to pick him up on Thursday afternoon.

We have also been keeping Josh up a bit later at night, so we will have our dinner then go for a walk, or in Josh’s case a scoot on his scooter. He had been getting out of bed a few times in the early evening so we decided it was time to try moving his bedtime.

It’s been pretty hot recently. We had a 44.4° last week, apparently the hottest day since 1991. It was pretty toasty but I was at work, so didn’t really notice until I went to get in the car at home-time and felt like I was in a pressure cooker. This is another contributing factor for the extra swimming! Snuggles has been coping with these hot days by sleeping a lot, he seems to have finally integrated into the Perth Cat lifestyle, as displayed by Bob’s cat, amongst others, in that he goes outside for a bit, realises it’s too hot then comes in and lies on the floor tiles, which are a bit cooler than the rest of the house.

Deanne has had her contract extended again, her boss would appear to like to keep her on permanently, but sadly this is unlikely to happen. However she is working hard on some ideas of her own for a business, but I’ll keep them under my hat until she’s got it all organised and up and running. She is loving the three days a week working, and Joshua seems to be enjoying it too. They went to the Museum last week and have done other variously exciting things with their time together over the holidays

Joshua has been saving up his pocket money and went to spend it. He bought himself some Octonauts toys to go with his Octopod, which he was given by Pops at Christmas. He is extremely happy with his purchase, the five Vegimals (part vegetable, part animal…don’t ask me!) and has been telling everyone about it at every opportunity.

I have enjoyed my first year in the Antipodes, it’s a nice place to live and I feel like we have made the right move, although (for work) I’m still surprised at how big a drop in responsibility and remuneration I have had to take. However life is good and there have been all sorts of interesting things to investigate and discover, and we are still only just finding out about what there is to do here.

I have also got quite involved in my writers group, without which I probably wouldn’t have got round to publishing my book, talking of which, I now also have an Author Page on Amazon, check it out, I’m a published author!

I will finish this missive by listing some of the things I miss about the old country.

  1. You and ToF (obviously)
  2. Dave, Emma, Arlo and Billie
  3. Rich, Nige and Steve
  4. Being able to walk to the shops
  5. A profusion of takeaway restaurants
  6. Cheap books
  7. TV scheduling
  8. John Lewis
  9. The NHS

…and some things I like about our new country.

  1. The friends we’ve met since we arrived
  2. Joshua’s school
  3. The Zoo
  4. Being a member of the P&C committee
  5. Scitech
  6. My writers group
  7. The locality of Joshua’s Nana and Pops
  8. The Museum
  9. Finding new coffee shops and cafés
  10. Having days out without worrying about the weather
  11. The parks (especially Kings Park)

I think that’ll probably do for now, I’ll leave you with some pictures.

Love

Dan

Parrots, on the lawn

Parrots, on the lawn

 

Joshua on his scooter

Joshua on his scooter

 

The hermit crabs at day-care

The hermit crabs at day-care

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Daughter, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

Leave a Reply

