Science Fair

Dear Mum,

Deanne decided early on today that she wasn’t well enough to join us for any activities, so I tried to make her as comfortable as I could and then got Josh and I sorted for the day.

Our first outing was to view a house in Leeming, maybe a little over our ideal price but the estate agent told us that the market is slow and we can probably get away with low offers. The house was really nice, not dissimilar to our current place but much (much) closer to Joshy’s school. I’m looking at a couple more on Monday and will then decide what we’re going to do.

We headed home and I showed Deanne the video I made on my phone of the place, she just about managed to turn over in bed to look at it, the poor thing, and agreed that it looked a very good house.

Then Josh and I went shopping and bought some things to top up the cupboards, including some cartons of real orange juice with straws for Dee to drink while laying down, and a couple of jelly mixes, one of which you can add 200ml of a juice of your own to flavour it. Joshua decided he’d like to try one with apple juice. After which it was time for lunch, so we all had cheese sandwiches, Deanne and I toasted, Josh’s just bread.

After eating the two of us drove to the train station and went into Perth. It’s National Science Week over here at the moment and there was a science fair on in the cultural centre, which is near the museums. We saw the end of the Scitech show, which involved putting liquid nitrogen into a big tube of warm bubbly water which then shot a spout of foam in the air. When that was over there was about an hour before the next “act” so we went and looked around the WA Museum for a while, inspected the stuffed animals then looked at the fossils and the reproduction prehistoric fish.

We headed back to the stage area where Bizircus were just setting up. They were a science and magic act, if you can get your head round that. they did magic tricks and circus-type tricks, which they explained with physics and humour. It was very funny and Josh as absolutely transfixed after their first trick, which was the bloke making the woman hang in the air. I asked him if he could figure out how they did it and he said no, I agreed that I couldn’t either and it was pretty clever. The only thing that bothered me was that the guy looked and acted a lot like Glenn Robbins, who is the bloke that plays Kel in Kath and Kim, and Russell Coight in All Aussie Adventures that ToF and I used to watch, so I had trouble separating him from the characters I’ve seen on TV.

Josh had an ice cream before we left and we watched a bit of the Naked Scientist, who is an English bloke who just answers science questions posed by kids. The “naked” is because he doesn’t use any props or e.g. Google to get his facts, they are all in his head. However Joshua did say that he was expecting him not to be wearing any clothes!

I grabbed a Vanilla Diet Coke on the way back to the train station, then we went home to check on the patient. Deanne was okay, but still unable to do anything very much. Josh asked if he could do some of the Maths Seeds, which are the numeric version of the ABC Reading Eggs he has been doing. He seems much more proficient at the maths ones than the English ones, and he’s not too bad at the English ones! He continued doing those from when we got in at five until I had finished making soup for tea at about half six, he loves them.

This evening I watched the rest of a film I have been doing in shifts called Aeon Flux which, upon reaching the end, made no more sense than it had done at the start. Good effects but a loony story!

Tomorrow we have nothing planned, although there is another science and sustainability thing on, somewhere near Canning Bridge I think, so we might go to that. Deanne is Skyping Rich in the afternoon, as she has a few questions for him about an upcoming interview she has been invited to.

I liked the picture of the earring you sent, looks a little tarnished but practically good as new for 1,600 years old! Deanne likes the sound of the tea and we hope the finger isn’t hurting too much.

Sorry for the long mail but it’s been an exciting day.

Love

Dan

Science Fair Ice Cream

Science Fair Ice Cream

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

One response to “Science Fair

  • Mum

    Hi Dan What a busy, busy day….was almost as busy myself! We went into Poole first thing, principally to get some photos printed at Boots. There were 100 altogether going back to your first ones sent in January. It will take me ages to sort them out but there are dates and notes in my photo file which will help. I bought a new photo album and may separate out into Australia, Brazil and ‘other stuff’. I bought some cooked salmon and salads at M&S (for tea) and we were back home by 10.30, despite stopping for a coffee. I decided to pop up to Druce to catch up on some site work, without the interruption of everyone else. I made a little lunch (M&S cheese scone with cheese and my own fruit salad – orange, strawberries and pineapples), prepared a flask of coffee and left home about 11.30. I was very adventurous and drove my car right up to the site – I’m terrified to drive the land rover on my own. As the ground is very dry there wasn’t a problem and it saved me a couple of miles walk. I got on like a house on fire and was back home by 3.30. Dad has gone down to Kimmeridge tonight, he’s meeting one of his fishing cronies. The Science stuff sounds fantastic and Josh sounds as though he is really enjoying it. My finger is better, but have now got an achy neck (Carrying buckets of Roman roof tiles – will send a pic of our reconstructed Roman roof Love to you all – special love to Deanne, if positive thoughts could help, I would will her better quickly, quickly!!! mum xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

