Eggs and Beans

Dear Mum,

My last day as a free man today! Work starts tomorrow and I really don’t know what to expect of it. I’m sure I’ll let you know though.

After Deanne left for work this morning I set up the laptop so Joshua could start on the Reading Eggs, a learning to read course on the ABC site. I’ve included a photo below of one of the “games”. He played for about an hour and a half, which really surprised me. He loved it. The games were pretty good and revolved around identifying letters, then words in things like letter searches, tapping a letter to make a sound and making animals jump from letter to letter to reach a goal.

Once he was done we had lunch, baked beans, then went to the Tropical Twist playcentre, as the ticket runs out at the end of this week. There was a lot of running around and climbing, mainly by Joshua, so when we got home he had a snack then went for a nap for a couple of hours. In which time I didn’t do a great deal, as I figured I’ll be at work tomorrow so an hour or two watching a film wouldn’t be a bad move.

Josh watched an episode of Walking With Dinosaurs as I made tea. I’m amazed how much he still likes them and watches at least one episode of one of his “Walking With” DVD’s a week, they were a very good present!

Deanne got home just before the Korma I made was ready, she went to the physio’ again after work, but he can’t do anything until her back has recovered enough for some manipulation. Poor thing is still having to lie on the floor rather than sitting on the sofa.

I’m dropping Josh off at daycare in the morning, trying to get to work for nine o’clock. Not sure what’s happening after that.

Love

Dan

ABC Reading Eggs

ABC Reading Eggs

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Daughter, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

One response to “Eggs and Beans

  • Mum

    Hi Dan Thanks for the Hambledon link – it has been big news here. I visited with Wareham Middle School (and Vince Giavarini) – don’t know whether it was your year. It is very steep and one the highest points in Dorset. Vince set a pace and I followed – when I got to the top I thought I was going to die!!! My heart was beating so hard with the effort that I could hardly breathe or see straight!!! Since then, all my Hambledon research has been done from books!! Josh did seem to enjoy his ‘work’, such a busy boy. We had one of the mosaic experts visit Druce today, he will write up the technical account for me. One of the rooms has one mosaic laid on top of another, apparently very rare. We now know that the first mosaic was laid about AD 200, some more about 300 and the latest ones about 350. The house was lived in for about 400 years. Carol found another baby burial where she is working – I’ll probably finish it as she is a bit squeamish. Hope that your first day at work goes really well. By time we get up, your working day will be almost finished. I really look forward to getting your daily updates, Australia doesn’t seem so far away then. Lots of love, mum xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

