Ice Cream And Chocolate Sauce

Dear Mum,

It was great to speak to you and ToF this afternoon, hope the car service doesn’t cost too much!

Deanne dropped Joshua off this morning, even though she’s still under the weather. I got my running gear on and went to the park, it’s a few weeks since I ran so I took it easy and didn’t do the usual 1.5k, then 0.5k alternating run and walk, I just ran until it was too hard and then walked until I could run again. It still only took me about 46 minutes to get round the lake, so that’s not too bad.

I got a call from a colleague of the recruiter I went to see yesterday, to ask if I was interested in a role for iiNet, who supply our internet and phone line. I figured it couldn’t do any harm so said “why not?”

I did some bits and pieces of work and washing but the day flew past and it was soon time to pick Josh up. He came out of his class wearing a stethoscope he had made this week. He looked so cute, but sadly I wasn’t able to get a picture.

He had a snack then we played in the garden, after which we Skyped you. When we finished the call Josh watched a bit of TV and I finished making tea, bolognese. I also got a call from Olive, who was worried because she hasn’t heard from Julie since they went on holiday. I told her the reception is bad in the places they’ve been, so we’ve only received the occasional text and not too many phone calls.

After which I also got a Skype from three of my old colleagues, Rich, Steve and Nige, who seem in fine form. Skype really has made a big difference to emigrating, as I’m sure you are aware with two sons in different continents to that which they grew up in. It was great to see the guys again, although I didn’t find out much about what’s going on there because it mainly seemed to be me talking about what’s happening here. We’ll do it again though.

Deanne arrived home and we had dinner followed by ice cream and chocolate sauce as per the picture, then I put Josh to bed. He had the book he got out of the school library today for his bedtime story. Surprisingly about a dinosaur.

Tomorrow is Joshy Daddy day. No idea what we’re doing yet, although I think we’re going to do some reading practice with the “ABC Learning Eggs” I’ve signed up for. don’t know what they are or how they work but they’re meant to be pretty good so I’ve heard.

Love

Dan

Chocolate Sauce Face

Chocolate Sauce Face

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

One response to “Ice Cream And Chocolate Sauce

  • Mum

    Hi Dan Lovely to talk to you and Josh this morning – you were both on fine form, particularly his nibs. THe car service was as expected – nearly £300 – the poor old thing toddles along but we are probably going to have to get a replacement next year. We had a lovely tea tonight – sea trout (caught by dad) and almonds with new potatoes and salad. THEN….ice cream and chocolate sauce which we haven’t had since you visited last Xmas. We have just come back from Sainsbury’s in Wareham – its 7.15 pm and it was heaving – also there wasn’t a parking place to be had in the town – we parked miles away and had to lug two heavy bags of (mainly fruit) rather a long way. Going to watch a ‘Lewis’ tonight – probably seen it before but we can never remember the endings!! lots of love mum xxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

