Scooter-Saurus

Dear Mum,

I was expecting a bit of a relaxing day today. I was somewhat mistaken!

Although to be fair Deanne and I heard Joshy come into our room at about seven this morning, but we weren’t really awake and he went back to bed, not getting up until about ten past nine. Which was a pretty laid back start to the day.

We had breakfast and got ready, then went to a playcentre called Tumblers, which Joshua had been to with Nana and asked if he could take us. We had offered him the choice between that and Sci-Tech, and he chose that. It was really good, in a leisure centre along with a big pool and water slide, a library and a few other odds and ends. We’ll probably pay for a day pass at some point and go do the pool, the slide and the playcentre. It’ll be a little bit like being at Centreparcs again.

We got home and heated up a few of my sausage rolls, they were very tasty, the picture is of Joshua eating one of them. In fact they are so good I would strongly recommend you try them, they are pretty easy to make (after all I can make them) and I’m sure you’ll have most of the ingredients. The recipe is here. While we were eating them Joshua watched an episode of Walking with Monsters, the one with a Siberian Scutosaurus in it from the start of the Triassic period.

After lunch Deanne wanted to do some paperwork so I agreed to Joshua’s idea to take his scooter to the park. He hasn’t used the scooter much so was a little unsteady at first, but he insisted we go to the playground we were at yesterday and actually managed the two or three kilometres there, and the same back after we had finished playing there. I tell you what, I’m not sure I’m going to manage my run this week, as two five kilometre runs has put a real crimp on the muscles in my legs.

By the time we got back it was nearing five and so Deanne made some wedges and slices for us and nuggets for Josh. I threw a salad together. I put a film on for Joshua, he started watching the Wallace and Gromit movie, The Curse of the Were Rabbit, but made me stop it because he got scared of the bits where Wallace was turning into a big rabbit. His hands shook and he looked really frightened, I felt quite bad. I’m pretty sure stuff like that didn’t affect me when I was little, but then I guess I was the youngest of four boys so was exposed to a lot more inappropriate movies than he has been. I was wondering about watching Star Wars with him, but think I’ll have to watch it myself first to make sure it’s okay for his delicate sensibilities.

He ended up watching Toy Story 3 while we ate, which he was much happier about.

I bathed him and then he asked if Deanne could help him dress and read him his story. We’re watching Silent Witness at the moment. Tomorrow I’m going to start working on the stuff Richard has sent me through. I shan’t say what I’m doing for him as these scientists are all a bit careful about not revealing what they are doing before publication.

Love

Dan

Sausage Rolls

Sausage Rolls

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

One response to “Scooter-Saurus

  • Mum

    Hi Dan I looked at the recipe – it looks delicious…we rarely eat sausage rolls but those I could be tempted with!!! Can you remember how terrified of crabs you were – I know it was Richard who started the phobia off – but you were really petrified!!! At least Josh knows that some stuff is not for watching – which reminds me of when you and I were going to watch JAWS. We were all comfy and about 10 minutes into the film decided it was a bit too terrifying… We went to Sandsfoot Castle at Weymouth yesterday – quite a spectacular ruin right on the cliff edge. Dad sussed out a potential new place to fish. The castle is in a bit of Weymouth I would never have considered visiting. We got home just after 5 – I had prepared tea beforehand…most of which was salad leftovers from the day before. We added tinned tuna and I had cooked baby new potatoes. I did them ‘Danish -style – fried in hot oil with a bit of sugar. All in all it was excellent. For some reason I was very tired last night – I think it must have been the sea air!! Today its back to Druce – no doubt more exciting stuff waits to be discovered. Have a good day love mum xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

